Voting Stations in Randburg for SA's Sixth Democratic Elections

Category Advice

25 years after the dawn of democracy, South Africa is now preparing for the sixth democratic elections (national and provincial) since 1994. Declared a public holiday by President Cyril Ramaphosa, citizens can cast their vote and make their mark on Wednesday 8 May 2019. In a first for the country, there are 48 registered parties that will appear on the national ballot, to put this into perspective, this is 19 more parties than 2014.

Gauteng will see the largest number of political parties contesting for the province, with voters spoiled for choice between 36 parties. According to Google Trends, residents of Gauteng have been the most active in researching the "elections in SA", with new data showing that the top ten cities/towns are predominantly from the province. In particular, Randburg is hovering around the third and fourth spot - giving a good indication that residents of the town are actively involved in learning and researching more about the upcoming elections.

List of voting stations around the suburbs of Randburg

For the residents of Randburg who have registered to vote, Lew Geffen Sotheby's International Realty Randburg has put together a list of voting stations around various suburbs.

It is important to remember, you can only vote at the station where you're registered to vote in.

Voting Stations:

1. Randpark Ridge
- Avenir Private School
- Randpark Primary School

2. Northriding
- Cabanga Conference Centre
- North Riding Secondary School
- Girl Guide SA (Conference Centre)

3. Northcliff
- Northcliff Primary School
- Northcliff High School

4. Blairgowrie
- IR Griffith Primary School
- Blairgowrie Community Centre

5. Robindale
- Fontainebleau Pre-Primary School
- Laerskool Unika

6. Bromhof
- Randpark Ridge United Church

7. Northwold
- Northern MLC Club

8. Boskruin
- Boskruin Community Centre

9. Sharonlea
- Sharonlea Primary School

10. Linden
- Linden Hoerskool

11. Windsor East
- Windsor East Recreation Centre

12. Robin Hills
- Robin Hills Primary Schools

13. Berario
- Berario Community Centre

14. Fontainebleau
- NG Kerk Fontainebleau

More about the Elections
In order to be allowed to vote, you will need to be:

1. Registered as a voter
2. 18 years or older
3. A South African citizen

Although you need to be 18 years or older to vote, you can register to vote from the age of 16. Fortunately, once you register, you will not have to do so again unless you move or your voting district boundaries change. Sadly, those who have not registered will not be able to vote this year as voter registration closed at the end of January.

Check your Registration Status
If you're unsure about your registration status, you can SMS your ID number to 32810, you will then receive an automated response stating whether you're registered for the 2019 National Elections, and if you are, it will go on to say which voting station you're registered in.

Important Documents
If you registered this year or previous years, you will already know which important documents were required, ie, a green bar-coded ID book or smartcard ID or a valid Temporary Identity Certificate (TIC). During this process, an official would have scanned your ID and pasted a barcode sticker either in your ID book/TIC, or, if you have a smartcard ID, the sticker would've been pasted on a special form for you to keep.

Time to Vote
Depending on the type of ID you have, you will need to bring it along on the day of the election as officials will scan it before you vote (make sure you have the barcode sticker with you). After this, you will then head into a private booth where you will cast your vote. It is important to note that you will be presented with two ballot papers - one for the national election and the other for the provincial election.

The 2019 national and provincial elections are around the corner and many Randburg residents are preparing by researching and understanding the process better.

To find out more about voting in SA, visit the IEC website.

Author: Lew Geffen Sotheby's International Realty Randburg

Submitted 25 Apr 19 / Views 1002

Johannesburg, Gauteng

Johannesburg ; also known as Jozi, Joburg and Egoli) is the largest city in South Africa and is one of the 50 largest urban areas in the world.  It is the provincial capital and largest city in Gauteng, which is the wealthiest province in South... More Info